West Midlands SMBA

West Mids logo
West Mids team

The West Mids SMBA was formed in 1985 with 22 clubs. Over the years the West Mids have regularly supplied players for the England International teams at all levels and have won many World, British Isles & National Titles. The West Mids have now won the Inter County Championships 4 times.

Last Year the Mids went unbeaten. On the way to clinching the title last year the Mids beat the defending champions Norfolk 28-12 in the semi-finals. In the final the Mids beat Cornwall 25-15. For more information about the West Mids go to our website Don’t forget to like our Facebook page @WMSMBA. #TheMids

President: Margaret Harris

Chairman: Chris Willies

Captain: Josh Hale


Paul Baller, Nathan Caines, Tom Caines, Pete Dunkley, Ross Dunkley, Adam Easthope, Malcolm Follis, Scott Follis, Josh Hale, David Harris, Mitchell Harvey, Alan Jones, Beth Lowery, Liam Lowery, Callum Mitchell, Chris Pegg, Jon Pitcher, Jack Shephard, Craig Strong, Michael Tandy, Josh Towey, Phil Warr, Allan Williams & Chris Willies

Pembrokeshire SMBA

Pembrokeshire logo
Pembrokeshire team

The Pembrokeshire Short Mat Bowls league was formed in 1989 with 8 clubs. Pembrokeshire became affiliated to the Welsh short Mat Bowls Association in 1990. Since then, there has been a steady growth in the sport and there are now 13 affiliated clubs. There are many clubs in Pembrokeshire who do not participate in the league but enjoy bowling on a friendly basis.

Since 1993 Pembrokeshire are very proud to have represented Wales 15 times in the Inter Team Challenge. The County has been well represented over many years by players in the Welsh National Team, who have won several British Isles, International and World Titles.

We are very much looking forward to the Top Team Challenge to be played in Norfolk this year, and would like to congratulate West Midlands and Oriel on winning the Team Championship last season. The event is something we always enjoy. Finally, I would like to wish good luck to all teams taking part and I am sure, the event will be very successful

President: Shirley Williams

Chairman: John Munt

Team Managers: Shirley Williams & Lesley McKenzie

Captain: Andrew Hudson


Tom Brown, Amanda Cresswell, Kevin Davies, Martyn Davies, Alan Evans, Andrew Evans, Sheila Evans, Tomos Evans, Dilwyn Harries, Andrew Hudson, Paul Hudson, Chris John, Mike John, Rodney, Kendrick, Clive Law, John Lewis, Peter Norman, Rhys O'Mara, Chris Phillips, David Pollock, Mark Rees, Rhydian Rees, Mark Taylor, Tim Thomas & Hazel Wadey

Oriel Zone

Oriel Logo
Oriel Zone

I am honoured to be leading these bunch of lads out as team captain this weekend to try and win the top team event for our fourth time. We had a fantastic season last year wining the boomer cup back off Mid Ulster after we defeated Donegal in a one sided final. The team has practised together all year in preparation for this weekend and are fully determined to win this competition again. I am delighted that we are able to have Gerry McCabe and Mary O’Hare with us this weekend after their recent health problems, this is a great boost to the team that you are both with us on our Journey this weekend.

I would like to thank everyone involved on running this event in Norwich and hope the weekend is a massive success. It will be great catching up with the wales team again who we met when we hosted the event in Newry 2 years ago and built a lot of friendships along the way and we hope for the same when we meet the West Midlands team this season. I wish all the teams the best of luck and we all hope for some excellent bowling this weekend. Seamus McParland – Oriel Zone Team Captain

Zone Convenor: Gerry O'Hare

Captain: Seamus McParland


Aidan Conroy, Kevin Conroy, Sean Conroy, Francis Dillon, Paul Duff, Jim Fox, Jason Hand, Michael Hand, Niall Hand, Shane Hand, Paddy Hanlon, Ronan Hanlon, Conor Mackin, Noel Mackin, Thomas Martin, Brendan McCabe, Gerry McCabe, Dairmuid McMahon, John McMahon, Stephen McMahon, Seamus McParland, John Murnaghan, Paul O'Keeffe, Anthony Reel, Miceal Savage, Sean Trainor, Sean Traynor, Francis Woods